History of Branickich Palace andit’S insides
Branicki Palace is a building belonging to the most beautiful XVIII-century magnate residence in Poland. Tourists can be astonished by the magnitude and harmony of the entire complex and interested by its rich history.
History of Branicki Palace and it’s insides
Palace is doubtless the icon of Bialystok. Impressive building in the shape of horseshoe is compulsory attraction to every tourist that comes to Białystok.
Branicki Palace belongs to the most beautiful XVIII-century magnate residences in Poland. Tourists can be astonished by the magnitude and harmony of the entire complex and interested by its rich history. Palace was expanded and decorated throughout entire life of Jan Klemens Branicki, its host. Some of the very finest architects from XVIII-century were working on it. Among them: royal architect Zygmunt Deybel, Jakub Fontana or colonel Henryk Klemm. The main building has two storeys; helmets are placed on roof line’s sides; between them, above main entrance a triangular field is located so called tympanum – above it there is a sculpture of mythical Atlas, kneeling under Earth’s weight. In the tympanum’s centre you will find an arms shield surrounded by panoplies. Branicki’s crest was a mythical Gryphon, a creature portrayed as a lion with eagle’s head and wings.
Branicki’s Palace Complex
Monumental and at the same time graceful residence is the icon of Białystok. This unique, baroque complex consists of several buildings – main building in shape of a horseshoe and few accompanying buildings. Everything together makes a harmonious complex. Branicki Palace was build according to the basic rule of residential layout in baroque inspired by Versailles – entre cour et jardin – which means between the garden and the courtyard. This vast complex was built in several stages: starting with a Wiesiołoski’s castle from XVI century, through reconstruction at the end of XVII century according to Tylman from Gameren’s project up until the last reconstruction in 1721-1771 managed by Zygmunt Deybel. After his death in 1752 his work was picked up by Jan Henryk Klemm. The biggest change was the reversal of palace’s front. Side pavilons were added and connected to main building with colonnades. Branicki’s team of architects and engineers created an amazing palace and made hetman’s countless guests stunned in awe. The residence was to be a proof of his status, aspirations and good taste.
Branicki’s palace after the host’s death
After hetman’s death, while Izabella still had her right to a lifetime, Potocki family sold the palace in 1802 to Prussian king Friderick Wilhelm III. However he would only get it after Izabella’s death. Circumstances change after 1807 treaty in Tylża, between Russia and Prussia.